

September 18, 1965

TABLE TENNIS

Murugesh & Bharathan in Final

Mrs. Rukmani beats Miss. Abraham

MADRAS, Sept. 18.
Veteran V. S. Murugesh showed pleasing form when accounting
for young. G. Dasarathan in straight
games to reach the final of the Rames to reach the final of the senior singles event in the Madras State open table tennis champion-ship last evening at Centrol YMCA.

The winner will next meet G. Bharathan who defeated K. R. R. Pillai in the other semi-final. Mrs. A. Rukmani and Miss Jansi Aiana will contest the women's singles final. Miss Aiana after dropping the first game settled down to steady stroke-play and clinched the issue against school-girl Suma George, who had beaten her in a previous tournament this season.

Mrs. Rukmani's rich experience stood her in good stead in beating "Varsity Blue", Miss Usha Abra-

Though past his prime. Murugesh showed that he retained his touch and also his agility when he scored a fluent victory over a much younger player. The former Railway star put across several spectacular returns and also made some effective finishes.

Stella Maris College won the women's team chambionship beat-ine Women's Christian College by three matches to one, mainly because of the good work of Jansi Alana.

The results:

Men's singles (semi-finals): S. Bharathan beat K. R. R. Pillai 21-14. 21-11, 21-13; V. S. Murugesh beat G. Dasarathan 21-19. 21-15. 21-18. Women's singles (semi-finals): Jansi Aliana beat Suma George 7-21. 21-17, 21-14, 21-17; Mrs. A. Rukmani beat Usha Abraham 21-18, 21-16. 21-18.

21-18.

Inter-Collegiate women's team championship (final): Stella Maris beat W.C.C. 3-1 (Stella Maris names first): Chitra Moses lost to Shella Lingaiah 21-13, 12-21, 17-21; Jans Alana beat Margaret Das 21-7, 21-5; Chitra Moses and Jansi Alana beat Shella Lingaiah and Margaret Das 21-11, 21-15; Jarsi Aiana beat Shella Lingaiah 21-8, 21-11.

Manis and Margaret (final): Margaret Das 21-11, 21-15; Jarsi Aiana beat Shella Lingaiah 21-8, 21-11.

Lingaiah 21-8, 22-21.

Men's non-mcdailists singles (final):
C. Sundaramurthi beat Prasad Rao
21-10, 25-23, 21-13.

Women's non-medaists (sem'final): Nirmala Nair beat P. G. Padma
21-12, 20-22, 20-22, 21-16, 21-6; Shei a
Lingaiah beat B. Padma 21-14, 21-18,
21-10.